top of page

Dragonfall by L. R. Lam


Long ago, humans betrayed dragons, stealing their magic and banishing them to a dying world. Centuries later, their descendants worship dragons as gods. But the 'gods' remember, and they do not forgive. Thief Arcady scrapes a living on the streets of Vatra. Desperate, Arcady steals a powerful artifact from the bones of the Plaguebringer, the most hated person in Lumet history. Only Arcady knows the artifact's magic holds the key to a new life among the nobles at court and a chance for revenge. The spell connects to Everen, the last male dragon foretold to save his kind, dragging him through the Veil. Disguised as a human, Everen soon learns that to regain his true power and form and fulfil his destiny, he only needs to convince one little thief to trust him enough to bond completely–body, mind, and soul–and then kill them. Yet the closer the two become, the greater the risk both their worlds will shatter.


Thank you to NetGalley for providing me with an ARC to read in exchange for this review.


I did not tell you that any magic you took from me, I would take back from you, and more. I would take everything.


Dragonfall is one of those books that I just don't think was written for me. It follows a dragon Everen who is stuck in a humanoid body who is on a mission to restore his kind after humanity betrayed them, a girl named Arcady whose grandfather was killed for being the creator of a series of plagues. I did really find the gender system interesting, but also a bit challenging. I like the idea of a world where your gender isn't just automatically assumed and it's impolite to do so. I also really enjoyed the magic system and what happens if you burn through your magic too quickly; it was really a cool concept and I think quite realistic that magic would be finite like any other source of energy. My biggest complaint is the way it's written not only from differing perspectives, but also to different audiences. I know that probably doesn't make much sense so I'm going to try again. I hated how Everen's portions were written like a diary to Arcady. It really was difficult to get into the flow of the story because Arcady's perspective isn't written the same way that his is. It's also super heavy on the lovey dovey and I'd have preferred a little more adventure than romance, but if you like romantic fantasy, this is probably one you will enjoy.






bottom of page