top of page

For the Wolf by Hannah F. Whitten


The first daughter is for the Throne.

The second daughter is for the Wolf.


As the only Second Daughter born in centuries, Red has one purpose-to be sacrificed to the Wolf in the Wood in the hope he'll return the world's captured gods.


Red is almost relieved to go. Plagued by a dangerous power she can't control, at least she knows that in the Wilderwood, she can't hurt those she loves. Again.


But the legends lie. The Wolf is a man, not a monster. Her magic is a calling, not a curse. And if she doesn't learn how to use it, the monsters the gods have become will swallow the Wilderwood--and her world--whole.




THE REVIEW:

If you are interested in a cross between Disney's Beauty and the Beast and Frozen, this is the one for you. It's a good book, but not one that you haven't probably read before if you're into YA fantasy, which you likely are if you're reading this review. The ending was a bit anticlimactic; I mean, the majority of the book was spent trying to prevent one person from becoming the host for all of this power, yet when it happened it ended up not being much of a big deal at all and relatively east to remedy. Like I said, it was good but it wasn't incredible. I'm also one of those gluttons for punishment who enjoys politics and I'd have liked to see more about the world and its governments. My favorite parts were the relationship between the Wilderwood and Red. I felt kind of sad for it in a way. I'm curious if I'll have the same or similar feelings for the shadowlands. Anyway, 3 out of five is my final rating.




bottom of page