top of page

Grey Sister by Mark Lawrence


Second novel in the brilliant series from the bestselling author of Prince of Thorns.


In Mystic Class Nona Grey begins to learn the secrets of the universe. But so often even the deepest truths just make our choices harder. Before she leaves the Convent of Sweet Mercy Nona must choose her path and take the red of a Martial Sister, the grey of a Sister of Discretion, the blue of a Mystic Sister or the simple black of a Bride of the Ancestor and a life of prayer and service.


All that stands between her and these choices are the pride of a thwarted assassin, the ambition of a would-be empress wielding the Inquisition like a blade, and the vengeance of the empire’s richest lord.


As the world narrows around her, and her enemies attack her through the system she has sworn to, Nona must find her own path despite the competing pull of friendship, revenge, ambition, and loyalty.



The Review


The sequel to Red Sister was almost everything I had hoped it would be and so much more all at once. It starts a few years after the events of Red Sister, with the girls back to their studies, exploring the cave system, and Nona naturally plotting her vengeance. I swear that Nona is one of my favorite characters of all time. Like, ever.


This review is going to be kind of short because honestly. I have to start Holy Sister, the next and final of the trilogy, NOW.


Here's what I did like: Mark Lawrence makes such complex and complicated and loveable and hate-able characters. Even if you understand the why's for how someone reacts, it doesn't always mean you approve. Like Nona though, I can't give up on them. In order to avoid this having spoilers, that's all I'm gonna say. If you've read both books then you know who I mean in particular.


Mark, you broke my damn heart at the end and I hate you for it! :p


I absolutely LOVE how the foreshadowing was less predictable than it was in the first book. Looking back, I can see warning signs but every single twist took me by surprise. Abbess Glass is such an amazing character that I wish I had guiding my life. Well, maybe not GUIDING because who knows how that would go (except for her, of course.) The action is amazing and vivid, the plot is just killing me. I loved reading this book, I'll probably re-read it for the rest of my life in fact. So far, this series is one of--if not THE--best book series I've ever had the pleasure to read.


One kind of negative is that I really wish for more about The Missing. Who are they? Where did they come from and why? I just need to know the history of this world and its people, both the past and present. I'm seriously hoping all of my questions will be answered in Holy Sister.


Summing it up, read these books!!!!!!!! 5 out of 5 stars.




bottom of page