top of page

Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo


Surrounded by enemies, the once-great nation of Ravka has been torn in two by the Shadow Fold, a swath of near impenetrable darkness crawling with monsters who feast on human flesh. Now its fate may rest on the shoulders of one lonely refugee.

Alina Starkov has never been good at anything. But when her regiment is attacked on the Fold and her best friend is brutally injured, Alina reveals a dormant power that saves his life—a power that could be the key to setting her war-ravaged country free. Wrenched from everything she knows, Alina is whisked away to the royal court to be trained as a member of the Grisha, the magical elite led by the mysterious Darkling.

Yet nothing in this lavish world is what it seems. With darkness looming and an entire kingdom depending on her untamed power, Alina will have to confront the secrets of the Grisha . . . and the secrets of her heart.



The Review


Shadow and Bone is the first book in the Grisha trilogy. The story follows Alina, an apprentice cartographer in Ravka's military, a girl who is not at all as plain as she appears. As it happens, she alone possesses the power to stop an evil even I didn't see coming. Before I say anything else, I have to say this: Leigh Bardugo and Laini Taylor are the queens supreme of paper and ink heart and soul. They are the acme of YA/NA fantasy and no other author in this genre compares. ​ Shadow and Bone is so entertaining, vivid and crafted with the skill of any fabrikator. I have to admit that my knowledge of Russian history is a bit lacking, so I can't comment on the flaws that others have mentioned regarding the problems with Russian culture. What I read, I devoured and was enchanted. I actually placed a hold on the final two installments so that I could keep exploring this colorful world without waiting. ​ There were a few problems with character development but nothing that turned me off or that made me deduct a teapot. Basically, I adored this book and I love this world. However, compared to Six of Crows, it pales. Granted the Six of Crows duology is possibly my favorite two books I've ever read next to Inkheart. Bardugo is a bad ass and I am so ready to be sucked back into this gritty and dangerous, but beautiful world. I'm also ready to have my heart ripped out knowing what happened at the end of Crooked Kingdom. *sobs*



bottom of page