top of page

The Burning God by R. F. Kuang


After saving her nation of Nikan from foreign invaders and battling the evil Empress Su Daji in a brutal civil war, Fang Runin was betrayed by allies and left for dead.


Despite her losses, Rin hasn’t given up on those for whom she has sacrificed so much—the people of the southern provinces and especially Tikany, the village that is her home. Returning to her roots, Rin meets difficult challenges—and unexpected opportunities. While her new allies in the Southern Coalition leadership are sly and untrustworthy, Rin quickly realizes that the real power in Nikan lies with the millions of common people who thirst for vengeance and revere her as a goddess of salvation.


Backed by the masses and her Southern Army, Rin will use every weapon to defeat the Dragon Republic, the colonizing Hesperians, and all who threaten the shamanic arts and their practitioners. As her power and influence grows, though, will she be strong enough to resist the Phoenix’s intoxicating voice urging her to burn the world and everything in it?



The Review


So this is what despair actually feels like? I knew by the forward that Kuang wasn't playing around and that I'd be bawling my eyes out but holy crap. And I can't even be mad about it because there really was no better way to cap this trilogy off than how it was. I'm just so sad to say goodbye to these characters and this really phenomenally dark and grisly and chaotic (pun intended) world. This isn't a book or a series that can be read casually; it's just too heavy for that. The wars are brutal and the casualties are many and Rin is not a heroine by any stretch of the imagination. She isn't a good person, but she's real and I think that's why I love her so much. She knows she's shady and doesn't try to hide it. Her actions are often questionable and the motives behind them more so. What I find interesting about her character development is that she has never hid the fact that she can be a little...um, twisted. Is it her upbringing? Her Speerly heritage? The culmination of her experiences? The will of the gods? Who knows. But what began as a war to save her country slowly became a war for Rin to become the most powerful. Her descent into madness tore me open because I love her and I want to hug her while simultaneously wanting to shake her out of it. I could talk about Rin's philosophy and psychology all day if you let me but I'll stop here by saying that Rin, I love you and you are a badass and I will miss you forever now that this series is over and I don't know what loving you says about MYSELF and I really don't want to analyze that. (ha)


The relationships are as raw and real and twisting as they ever have been. Kitay is the sweetest, smartest and just...this is one character that especially amazed me. He and Rin aren't just friends, they are soul twins and it's because of Kitay that I have such an incredible book hangover from this one. His loyalty has no bounds even when Rin is an absolute monster. He would walk through hell with her, albeit griping about how much trouble Rin has gotten them into. He is her softness, her empathy and I really think that somehow, when they were linked a part of her morality shifted to him and that is how she is capable of shutting so much of her feelings off and doing such terrible things.


Nezha. Do I need to say anything else? I didn't think I could forgive him on behalf of Rin and the people of Nikan but DAMN IT I DID. Fix it, Nezha. I'm dead inside now.


Basically, this entire review is to say that I both loved and hated how it ended. I don't include spoilers in my review but suffice to say that while painfully excruciating for me, it couldn't have finished any other way that would have left me satisfied. That being said, it IS a slow read with lots of traveling that could get a bit tedious. I wanted more interactions with all of the characters. I missed the Cike. I do however appreciate the differences in this book in comparison to the first two. Rin is winning the big picture, but losing the relationships that make life meaningful. I love that Altan is kind of...morphed into being a part of her. It's like...god, it's just so MUCH. I really, really, really cannot wait to see how Kuang does next because she has become one of those authors that I will read no matter what. If her next work is as incredible as The Poppy War trilogy, I don't know if my heart will make it.


Five out five stars because it could never have been anything less even if Rin needs punched. A freaking LOT.




bottom of page